Food to warm the soul

Diana Henry is a food writer who inspires her readers to cook. She also inspires copious dribbling with her evocatively descriptive writing.

She is widely travelled and the books contain incredibly cosmopolitan inspirations – perfect if you find yourself in a bit of a food rut. Sit down with Roast Figs and Sugar Snow and a good cup of tea and I guarantee that thirty minutes later you’ll be trawling the larder inquisitively seeing what you have that would fit these recipes.

She has written quite a few books – the latest, Salt, Sugar, Smoke is all about preserving. But my favourite is Roast Figs and Sugar Snow, filled to brimming with cold weather food from Russia to Alaska and beyond, all beautifully photographed and lusciously described.

Perfect for winter, and all worth trying.

Just keep a napkin handy.

5 thoughts on “Food to warm the soul

  1. Pingback: Why preserving is back in fashion according to Diana Henry « My Custard Pie

  2. I love Diana Henry’s food writing too. Salt Sugar Smoke has inspired me to think of using pickles in more exotic rather than W.I fashion and I love Crazy Water, Pickled Lemons. But haven’t read Roast Figs, Sugar Snow – now you’ve made me want to get my hands on a copy of this too.

Leave a Reply

