Much Toadiness

Toad in the Hole.

A bizarrely named dish.

I’m sure that the French think of this as English eccentricity, which of course it is. I wonder where this came from originally and who thought of the name. I suppose in French it would be called “Crapaud dans le Trou” which just doesn’t seem right.

I cook this when it’s cold and wet and all I have in the fridge are sausages.

It takes no time to whip up a savoury Yorkshire Pudding batter to sink them in and whilst it’s sizzling away in a hot oven I make a caramelised onion and mustard gravy to drizzle generously over it.

Nothing else needed except a good appetite and an elasticated waistband.

One thought on “Much Toadiness

Leave a Reply

